Why Choose Hillmuth?

  • Experience. We have been in the automotive business since 1978.
  • Convenience. Hillmuth has four Maryland service locations to better serve you.
  • Friendly. As a family-owned auto repair business, our staff strives to be personable and courteous.
  • We Care. Hillmuth doesn't just fix cars, we're eager to offer advice and have maintenance programs available to help extend the life of your vehicle.

Testimonials

"Hillmuth always does quality work in a courteous and professional manner."
W. Coopersmith
Read More
customer satisfaction survey tires sales and service financing available 6 months interest free total lifetime care

Gaithersburg, MD Reviews

David and Peggy G, Brooksville
February 14, 2012

Worked with Sammie on Saturday to get the car in the shop. The correct diagnosis was a bad motor mount, causing the filtering on the pump to break. Car was returned Tuesday morning, and works fine, we even drove it toAberdeenat night that week with no concerns noted.

Cortni G, North Bethesda
February 12, 2012

Timely and accurate service provided.

Marc H, Gaithersburg
January 31, 2012

As always prompt, efficient, and professional service with a smile.

Bud K, Gaithersburg
December 24, 2011

My first experience with Hillmuth was a very positive experience, one that I will certainly look forward to experiencing again. For years, I have used the dealership. But lately their responsiveness and service have not given me the confidence I need. When I called Hillmuth inGaithersburg, Mike explained to me how their process works and said bring it in. I brought it in; he called me with a diagnosis and recommendation in 30 minutes and had the car back to me within an hour and a half. The price was better than the dealership and they fixed the problem. But, the best part of my experience was when Mike called me at home afterwards to offer me a credit on my next visit, since I forgot my coupon, left it at home. Mike and Sami were genuinely interested in making my first experience with Hillmuth a good one. They certainly did and I’ll be back.

Colleen J, Hanover
December 23, 2011

I’m very impressed. I feel like they took time to explain each issue with me.

Lester S, Gaithersburg
December 16, 2011

As expected, the service and the professional staff were excellent!

Michael J, Gaithersburg
December 14, 2011

I took my ‘o4 BMW X5 for an alignment and balancing tires. Overall, I think they did a good job except it took longer than they said. (Which may not have been their fault). My problem is they damaged a center cap on one of the wheels and neglected to say anything about it. It was dark when I picked up the vehicle so I didn’t notice it until the next day. I think for the most part these guys do good work, but its details like this that prevent me from coming back on a regular basis.

Adam Z, Gaithersburg
November 1, 2011

Easy to make the appointment online. Car was serviced very quickly. I got a very easy to understand call, explaining the problems and wasn’t pressured into an additional repairs. Sami answered my questions also in an easy to understand way. Great job as always Hillmuth.

Larry K, Gaithersburg
October 28, 2011

I felt Sami’s explanation of the diagnosis of my car’s problems; the professional work done and concern for my total satisfaction was outstanding.

Anonymous
October 28, 2011

As a long time customer of Hillmuth onWoodfield Rd, I had a burned out headlight and wanted an immediate change. They were able to fit me in on short notice, replaced the headlight and preformed periodic maintenance which was long overdue as I waited. Was fully informed of cost of high intensity headlights before work began. Always a pleasure to deal with Hillmuth.

Ellen C, Ashton
October 24, 2011

Recently experienced transmission problems with my four year old Mercedes. Was able to get to Hillmuth who quickly analyzed the problem, contacted Mercedes for warranty information, contacted me and provided advice. All within a few hours. Thank you for your professionalism and promptness. Always a pleasure doing business with a company who you can trust and values you as a customer.

Shane W, Germantown
October 11, 2011

Great job, fellas. I am never disappointed after leaving Hillmuth. The customer service is exemplary and the repairs are quick and correct. Thank you once again.

Sabatino and Krista A, Germantown
October 1, 2011

Our experience at Hillmuth is always a pleasant one. The staff is great and the service is quick.

Terry D, Baltimore
September 29, 2011

By far the best car repair experience I have ever had. I would recommend Hillmuth to everyone.

Lester S
September 13, 2011

It takes time for excellent service; it’s worth the time at Hillmuth.

Anonymous
September 1, 2011

I have been extremely pleased with Hillmuth. They always keep me updated on what’s happening with my car. I am a female and have never felt that they talk down to me or try to convince me to have unnecessary work done, as other repair shops have done in the past. They went so far as to give me a coupon and call the manufacturer to see if a part was under warranty or recalled.

Jan B, Gaithersburg
September 1, 2011

Customer service is amazing… the staff out front are all engaging, thoughtful, and anticipate the needs of customers . the check engine light was still on after repairs, but the car passed inspection which was the sole purpose of the repairs (interesting that a car can pass inception with the check engine light still on). As always, provision of a rental car is greatly appreciated!

Semir B, Gaithersburg
August 26, 2011

Great service, manager was kind and friendly.

-thank you very much, I really appreciate your business and your comments!

Sami Shayeb

Jeffery R, Rockville
August 15, 2011

Excellent diagnosis, cost effective cure, well preformed services, reasonably priced. Highly recommended.

Anonymous
August 14, 2011

Had tires put on my vehicle and had a 4 wheel alignment done as well. They were very welcoming even after I purchased the tires off the internet. I saved some money (on the tires) this way… what I was impressed with is that Hillmuth did not try to charge me more for installation or try and persuade me in buying tires directly from them. The balancing work they did was perfect! Additionally, I brought my other vehicle and they were able to do the alignment the same day. Great work guys!

Guy and Carole B, Rockville
August 13, 2011

During the 20+ years we have taken our vehicles to Hillmuth of Gaithersburg they’ve given us the most immediate, professional, courteous service of any automotive company that we’ve ever been to. During all of those years they have never once let us down! We rate them with 5 stars, no question!!!

Wally and Lynda H, Brookville
July 31, 2011

Excellent service. Transportation provide upon request work was done on time.

Matt G, Germantown
July 28, 2011

So much less expensive than my dealer! I will only go to the dealer for warranty work. My whole family uses Hillmuth.

Deb Y, Gaithersburg
July 24, 2011

Mike went over everything my car did and did not need for its 60k visit, and he carefully went over the invoice at the end. Brian completed the work faster than expected, and Henry gave me a courtesy ride home while the work was being done and came and fetched me back when everything was completed. As a long time Hillmuth customer I have confidence the job was done right, and I appreciate the friendly professional manner that folks have. What more could you want?

Raj V, Gaithersburg
July 19, 2011

Mike was very professional and explained all the services that Hillmuth can provide, including a loaner car or ride home if necessary. The ambience is much better that at a dealer shop and everything was very neat. Mike also sought other information for me like body shop repairs for some scratches on my car. I was also offered some very good advice regarding my tires and I will return for my next service. Raj

Benjamin A, Gaithersburg
July 7, 2011

Very friendly and professional. I would recommend to a friend.

Anonymous
June 28, 2011

It is nice to have the TLC package and to have people who really look over your car and make sure it is working.

James N, Darnestown
June 23, 2011

I went to them because they have the hunter road force balancer. Merchants tire down the street could not resolve the vibration issue with the new tires from the tire rack. Hillmuth found 2 tires out of round. I reported the findings to the tire rack who sent 2 new tires which Hillmuth installed. The Hillmuth managers and the tire tech communicate well by email, my preferred method and explain things well which is kind of important to me as I used to work in the trade and still do a lot of my own maintenance and repairs.

Aaron and Frances J, Gaithersburg
June 19, 2011

As always I had a good experience at Hillmuth inGaithersburg. Got my truck in and serviced same day on a walk in visit. Thanks guys.

Clayton T, Gaithersburg
June 18, 2011

Service was excellent, price reasonable, sound advice from Mike on treatment of rust that had developed on auto drivetrain and chassis. Thankful for the advice not being necessary to replace tires at current wear.

David and Peggy, Brookeville
June 11, 2011

The car was making a loud noise when it moved forward. It was obviously in the drive train somewhere. You quickly identified the problem as front wheel bearings and repairs were completed. The car has over 80k miles on it, but is still running well and was worth the investment or repair.

Marc B, Gaithersburg
June 5, 2011

We had our car towed with an unexpected electrical problem fromPotomac,MDto Hillmuth inGaithersburgon a Friday evening. Since they were closed we left a voicemail on the after hours voice mail and got a prompt call as they opened on Saturday morning. The car was done and back to u on the same day. We even had a loaner car from Hillmuth just in case but returned that when we picked up the car. Always pleasant folks at Hillmuth – we’ll be back!

Philip and Francis C, Olney
May 17, 2011

Constantly excellent service. Always reliable and great customer service.

Jeffery A, Rockville
April 14, 2011

Hillmuth certified automotive dose excellent mechanical work. Now they have the state of the art system for getting your car there!

Andrea C, Olney
April 14, 2011

I have taken my car to Hillmuth automotive several times and have experienced a most professional staff. The technicians both at the front desk and workshop were very thorough, and provide me with a detailed analysis of the work to be done. They complete the work in a timely manner and actually saved me several hundred dollars in repair.

Click here to view the areas that we serve

Maryland Auto Repair and Auto Service Areas:

  • Howard County Auto Repair and Auto Service: Columbia (21044, 21045, 21046), Clarksville (21029), Cooksville (21723), Dayton (21036), Elkridge (21075), Ellicott City (21042, 21043), Fulton (20759), Glenelg (21737), Glenwood (21738), Guilford (20763), Hanover (21075, 21076), Highland (20777), Marriottsville (21104), Savage (20763), West Friendship (21784), Woodbine (21797).
  • Montgomery County Auto Repair and Auto Service: Ashton (20861), Bethesda (20814, 20815, 20817), Brookville (20833), Cabin John (20818), Chevy Chase (20815), Damascus (20872), Derwood (20855), Gaithersburg (20882, 20878, 20879), Germantown (20876), Kensington (20895), Olney (20832), Potomac (20854), Rockville (20850, 20851, 20853), Silver Spring (20904, 20905, 20906)