Maryland State Inspection

All four Hillmuth Auto Care locations in Columbia, Gaithersburg. Clarksville and Glenwood are authorized Maryland safety inspection stations. We are licensed by the Maryland State Police to inspect passenger vehicles, light trucks and SUVs and trailers. Whether you are selling your car, purchasing a used car or want to get your car ready to be used in a driving test, Hillmuth Auto Care can help.

Quick Links

New to Maryland? >

Bought a used vehicle? >

Transfer vehicle title to family member in Maryland >

Maryland state inspection checklist >

Window Tint >

Frequently Asked Questions >

Emissions Test VEIP Locations >

Maryland State Inspection Checklist:

New to Maryland?

Here's what you need to know about this process

  • On passenger cars, convertibles, and station wagons: 
     

  • All windows with aftermarket (added) tint must have at least 35 percent light transmittance. Red, yellow, amber, and reflective window tint is prohibited. 
     

  • On multipurpose vehicles, limousines, vans, and class “E” trucks that have a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) equal to or less than 10,000 pounds: 
     

  • Windows on the driver and right front passenger doors with aftermarket (added) tint must have at least 35 percent light transmittance. Red, yellow, amber, and reflective tint is prohibited on these windows. 
     

  • All other windows can be tinted to any degree of darkness or color. However, reflective tint is prohibited. 
     

  • Post manufactures window tint is prohibited on the windshield of any vehicle below the AS1 line or5 inches from the top of the windshield.
     

  • Additional fee required to assess window tint transmittance. Incorrect window tint % will cause vehicle to fail.

Learn more about Maryland Window Tint Law

Transfer Vehicle Title to Family Member in Maryland

  1. The Vehicle must have been previously titled in Maryland by a family member
     

  2. Fill out form Application for Maryland Gift Certificate Link

MD State Inspection is not needed if

You received the vehicle from a family member who is part of the immediate family (this only includes parent/stepparent, child/stepchild, or spouse

Vehicles of 7 Years DO NOT need a Bill of Sale

Bought a used Vehicle?

Here's what you need to know about this process

Maryland State Inspection Checklist:

The Maryland Department of Transportation’s Motor Vehicle Administration requires all vehicles go through a Maryland State Inspection. For most vehicles under 10,000 pounds this includes, but is not limited to:

Window Tint

Does your Vehicle have After-Market Window Tint?

For a more in-depth checklist which lists out what is looked at with each item above, check out our most up to date 
Maryland State Inspection Checklist.